Research Guides: Researching an Argument: Find Articles

Where should I look?

The tool that will help you find articles on your topic is a database. The library subscribes to many databases, and these are the ones I recommended starting with:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A popular resource found in many academic settings worldwide, this resource was designed for the premier researcher, rich with the most valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content available. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions.

Using the Advanced Search feature in a database allows you to use more than one keyword(search term) in order to get more relevant search results. Here's an example of a search in Academic Search Premier:

"null"

Use multiple, relevant search terms, typing one term per box
Limit to "Full Text"
You may slide the publication date bar for dates you want