This guide is intended to assist with the research papers associated with ENGL2133: Multicultural Literature. Please feel free to contact the NSCC.Librarian with any questions about research!
You will want to find an article that helps deepen your understanding of your chosen words. For example, if you choose proxemics, you might find an article that discusses its use in customer service. Below are recommended databases and tutorials:
Section One
Question One Resources:
Question Two Resources
Academic Search Premier and JSTOR are, again, good choices. However, you might also benefit from searching for historical newspapers to look for articles about working conditions for immigrants. You could contrast this to newspaper articles you find about current working condition for immigrants.
Section Two
All of the resources outlined for Section One should be helpful for Section Two. For example, you might search America's Historical Newspapers for example of how the Irish immigrants were discriminated against in the mid-1850s. You could also use JSTOR to look for journal articles on working conditions for Irish immigrants.
Question One Resources:
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Find the full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Harlem Renaissance by
A finalist for the 1972 National Book Award, hailed by The New York Times Book Review as "brilliant" and "provocative," Nathan Huggins' Harlem Renaissance was a milestone in the study of African-American life and culture. Now this classic history is being reissued, with a new foreword byacclaimed biographer Arnold Rampersad.As Rampersad notes, "Harlem Renaissance remains an indispensable guide to the facts and features, the puzzles and mysteries, of one of the most provocative episodes in African-American and American history." Indeed, Huggins offers a brilliant account of the creative explosion in Harlem during thesepivotal years. Blending the fields of history, literature, music, psychology, and folklore, he illuminates the thought and writing of such key figures as Alain Locke, James Weldon Johnson, and W.E.B. DuBois and provides sharp-eyed analyses of the poetry of Claude McKay, Countee Cullen, and LangstonHughes. But the main objective for Huggins, throughout the book, is always to achieve a better understanding of America as a whole. As Huggins himself noted, he didn't want Harlem in the 1920s to be the focus of the book so much as a lens through which readers might see how this one moment in timesheds light on the American character and culture, not just in Harlem but across the nation. He strives throughout to link the work of poets and novelists not only to artists working in other genres and media but also to economic, historical, and cultural forces in the culture at large.This superb reissue of Harlem Renaissance brings to a new generation of readers one of the great works in African-American history and indeed a landmark work in the field of American Studies.
Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era by
The Harlem Renaissance is considered one of the most significant periods of creative and intellectual expression for African Americans. Beginning as early as 1914 and lasting into the 1940s, this era saw individuals reject the stereotypes of African Americans and confront the racist, social, political, and economic ideas that denied them citizenship and access to the American Dream. While the majority of recognized literary and artistic contributors to this period were black males, African American women were also key contributors. Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era profiles the most important figures of this cultural and intellectual movement. Highlighting the accomplishments of black women who sought to create positive change after the end of WWI, this reference work includes representatives not only from the literary scene but also: -Activists -Actresses -Artists -Educators -Entrepreneurs -Musicians -Political leaders -Scholars By acknowledging the women who played vital--if not always recognized--roles in this movement, this book shows how their participation helped set the stage for the continued transformation of the black community well into the 1960s. To fully realize the breadth of these contributions, editors Lean'tin L. Bracks and Jessie Carney Smith have assembled profiles written by a number of accomplished academics and historians from across the country. As such, Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era will be of interest to scholars of women's studies, African American studies, and cultural history, as well as students and anyone wishing to learn more about the women of this important era.
Question Two Resources:
The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible by Question Three Resources:
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Find the full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Question Four Resources:
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Find the full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
For Paper 4 you'll want to use literary criticism. We have several databases that you may want to consider searching to find literary criticism on Night.
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Find the full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
To frame your paper from a historical context you may consider using a historical newspaper database:
