Developed over the 2024-2025 academic year, this book includes two primary aims. The first aim is to substantially reduce textbook costs for students at Nashville State Community College. As part of the Open Educational Resources initiative developed by the Tennessee Board of Regents and NSCC, our OER textbook comes at no cost to students or instructors. This no-cost impact is a win for all students and faculty!
While the first aim is focused on lowering the overall fiscal impact of college on students, the second aim is focused on providing students with a superb textbook that is easily accessible. Indeed, the open-access format provides students and instructors with an accessible textbook for navigating ENGL 1020 at NSCC.
As the authors of the textbook, it is our hope that this textbook will be an impactful resource for students and instructors well after the semester has ended!
The scope of this book includes five sections and an appendix. The first section, Getting Started with ENGL 1020 at NSCC, includes an introduction to the OER textbook in Chapter 1. Chapter 2 provides students with a selection of resources for navigating ENGL 1010, including an introduction to English at NSCC; resources for potential majors in English at NSCC; and resources for those who might major in English at a 4-year university. Chapter 3 extends this list to encompass all resources available to students, regardless of intended major. Chapter 4 provides an overview of the five stages of the writing process, and Chapter 5 focuses on generative artificial intelligence and traditional artificial intelligence as it relates to NSCC and classroom assignments.
While the Getting Started section provides students with a foundation for success, Module 1 introduces students to the major writing assignments, including Module 1’s focus on artificial intelligence. Module 1 also provides an overview of activities and assessments, including Essay 1: Summary and Critique of Artificial Intelligence. This module follows with an introduction to the first graded writing assignment for ENGL 1020: Discussion Board 1 (DB 1). This section of Module 1 provides the foundation for the initial draft of Essay 1 and the Feedback Form. Module 1 terminates with the final submission of Essay 1. Finally, Module 1 contains three student examples of Essay 1, all from former ENGL 1020 students at NSCC.
Following Module 1, Module 2 builds upon the beginning elements of the prior module and features the topic of parenting styles primarily through the example of Amy Chua’s ‘tiger parenting.’ This module also provides students with an introduction to thesis statements as well as introductions and conclusions specifically tailored to writing Essay 2. Module 2 also contains learning objectives and outlines required activities and assessments. Module 2 provides students with a deeper dive into key concepts, like thesis statements, topic sentences, introductions, conclusions, and revision. After students are given the foundational tools provided in these parts of Module 2, they will then engage the first graded writing assignment for Module 2: Discussion Board 2 (DB 2). After finishing the brainstorming phase of Module 2, students will also be guided in drafting Essay 2, including the instructions for the Feedback Form. Module 2 will then guide students in finalizing the draft of Essay 2, including the task list and grading rubric for Essay 2. Finally, Module 2 features three examples of Essay 2 written by former ENGL 1020 students at NSCC.
The third module for ENGL 1020 is Module 3, which features the Research Essay assignment for ENGL 1020. Students willl discover Module 3’s learning objectives and the assignment process as well as the required learning activities that students must complete for the third module. Like Module 2, Module 3 contains key words and concepts, such as explanatory synthesis, argument synthesis, claim, support, assumption, logos, ethos, pathos, counterargument, and reliable source. The key words and concepts section of Module 3 provides students with more in-depth explanations of explanatory synthesis and argument synthesis, including the distinctions between these two concepts. Additionally, students are provided with the instructor’s notes on MLA formatting and research, including topic selection, selecting sources, organizing your information, and drafting your essay. Module 3 also breaks down how to find and evaluate sources for ENGL 1020 topics.
After these initial sections for Module 3, the module students through the Discussion Board 3 (DB3) activity as well as outlines the rough draft for the Research Essay component of Module 3. Finally, Module 3 provides three examples of Essay 3 written by former NSCC students.
The final module in ENGL 1020 is Module 4: The Final Exam Essay. Module 4 offers students a breakdown of the learning activities for this module, including key words and concepts introduced in Module 4 and the instructor’s notes on analysis. Module 4 terminates with the Final Essay Exam and includes an example of Question 1 and Question 2 of the Final Essay Exam. Finally, Module 4 includes two examples of the Final Exam Essay written by former ENGL 1020 students.
Thank you for choosing this textbook for your course at NSCC! Although this textbook is the official course textbook for ENGL 1010 classes at Nashville State, faculty members are free to choose how to use this textbook as well as any supplemental materials they find necessary for helping their students navigate writing and learning at NSCC. And per NSCC’s policy on Academic Freedom , faculty members are “entitled to freedom in the classroom in discussing his or her subject, being careful not to introduce into the teaching unrelated subject matter.”
Prof. Brian Curtis is an Associate English Professor at Nashville State Community College. He is a native and current resident of Middle Tennessee. Prof. Curtis earned his B.A. in English and Creative Writing from Austin Peay State University and his M.A. in English Literature from Texas Tech University. He has taught at NSCC since 2006. In addition to teaching composition courses, Prof. Curtis teaches a literature course involving comic books and graphic novels, created by him. He also teaches courses in various genres of literature, including film studies. Brian Curtis has presented essays at popular culture conferences over Tales from the Crypt and cybernetics in superhero comics. His research interests involve various elements of popular culture, specifically comics and film, English Romanticism, and early Universal Monster films.
Brian strives for each student to have their own voice, contributing to critical thinking and discourse in their chosen fields. To foster this, composition plays an important role. He is thankful and blessed to help students achieve their goals.
The motivation and reason behind his teaching and research comes from his amazing wife, Alena, and their daughter, Penelope. Brian’s favorite hobbies are tabletop gaming, comic books, retro video games, classic monster films, and watching the art of horror movie hosts. His favorite movie is Frankenstein Meets the Wolfman.
Dr. Shane A. McCoy (they/them/theirs) is an Instructor of English in the School of Arts and Humanities. They have taught at the college-level for more than thirteen years. Dr. McCoy earned their bachelor’s degree in English at MTSU and their Ph.D. at the University of Washington in Seattle. Before arriving at Nashville State Community College in 2024, Dr. McCoy taught at the University of Washington, Volunteer State Community College, Tennessee Technological University, and MTSU. Dr. McCoy is currently pursuing a Master of Social Work (MSSW) at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville with a concentration in Organizational Leadership. Dr. McCoy hopes this OER project will allow students from under-represented backgrounds to have a smoother transition into college at NSCC!
Prof. Agnetta Mendoza is an Associate Professor in English in the School of Arts and Humanities at Nashville State Community College, Nashville, TN. She earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Ethiraj College (University of Madras, India), and her M. Phil. degree from Madras Christian College ( Autonomous, University of Madras). Prof. Mendoza has taught courses in English, American, and Commonwealth Literatures. She also teaches composition and literature courses at Nashville State Community College. She has developed online literature courses and enjoys introducing students to Shakespeare.
Prof. Mendoza’s mission statement in all her classes, in part, reads, “In our classroom, we will learn in the spirit of creativity and innovation, with an attitude of openness and freedom to express ourselves. We will enhance our personal values and help each other realize our hidden potential”.