Complete the Pre-Scavenger Hunt Survey here.
1. What is your name and A Number?
2. What is your major?
3. Watch the Library Website Tour on the home page. After viewing the tour, send a “Hello” chat to a library staff member through our Ask Us! chat feature. Once you get a response, take a screenshot and paste it into the Virtual Library Scavenger Hunt Word Document (if you do not know how to do this, record the date and time you chatted; it can be verified later). HINT: From here on in this scavenger hunt, you know at least one way to get help if you get stuck.
Outside the library hours of operation, our chat is offline. If you are completing this scavenger hunt during a time when our chat is offline, copy and paste the chat URL into the Word document.
4. When is the library open this semester?
5. On the library’s home page, click on Find research guides and locate the MLA Style Guide. Click on that guide, and record the three words that appear in the first green box in the column of green boxes on the left.
6. Watch this video on why using databases for academic research is a good idea.
Your English instructor has suggested you use the database Opposing Viewpoints in Context for your research paper on Artificial Intelligence. On the library’s home page, click on Find articles and databases. Locate Opposing Viewpoints under the letter O and find one article on your topic. Copy and paste the suggested MLA 9th Edition source citation into the Word document. If completing this scavenger hunt off campus, use your A Number and myNSCC password to access this database.
7. Your history professor wants you to find a newspaper article (in other words, a primary source) in the database called America’s Historical Newspapers. Go to that database (under the letter A) and name one Era listed on its Historical Timeline.
8. Most databases require your A Number and myNSCC password for access, but some, like kanopy and the New York Times Website, require an account setup with your NSCC email, which you will then use to access (This email address ends in my.nscc.edu). Go to either or both of these databases and create your account(s). Screenshoot your success or record one interesting title you see there once you have access.
9. Now use the library’s Quick Search to find an eBook on anything related to your academic major published within the last five years. HINT: Use the available filters to refine your search.
Copy and paste the citation generated for the eBook of your choice, using MLA format, into the Word document.
10. Use the Quick Search to find a book (any format) or article that has your favorite color in the title. Copy and paste the title into the Word document.
11. (Optional) Book an informal Meet & Greet appointment with a library staff member by scheduling a One-on-one consultation. This meeting can take place on Zoom or in person at the White Bridge Road campus; It’s your choice.
Complete the Post-Scavenger Hunt Survey here.
Discover NSCC Support Services beyond the Mayfield Library.