Research Guides: Historical Newspapers: Find Newspaper Articles

Find Historical Newspaper Articles

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Easy to browse for articles by era from 1690-2000.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper articles from 1851-2013.
Historical Tennessean This link opens in a new window
Tennessean archive 1812-2002

Newspapers.com Southeast edition
Newspaper archives of old newspapers in the South.
Click where it says "Use this resource".
more...less...
Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides access to newspapers from the southeast United States including 2000+ historical and recent newspapers in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Nineteenth Century Newspapers
"A full-text searchable, facsimile-image database of 200 newspapers, chronicling 19th-century American culture, daily life and events. Provides a broad yet sensitive depiction of the United States in the 1800s valuable to both professional and general researchers."
From Thomson Gale and available only to Tennessee residents.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal 1984-current
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database includes full text newspaper articles.

Times Machine
Requires NYTimes website subscription. See the left side of the screen for information on registering for your student account.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Index to newspapers, no full text of articles.
more...less...
By the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Good for finding topic ideas in American history.

Hot topics and current events
Search back to 2018.
On the White Bridge Campus we subscribe to the physical Tennessean for current events in the news.

The Nashville Retrospect highlights stories and news reprinted from the city's past.

Print copies are available inside the library on the main campus.

Vol 1 No. 1, July 2009 to 2020.

The Retrospect lives on in a free email newsletter, The Dispatch (sign up here), and all 138 back issues of the newspaper are still available in our online store.

The White Bridge Campus has the physical back issues in the bound periodicals section on the second floor.