Includes a variety of primary resources. "Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought."
"A full-text searchable, facsimile-image database of 200 newspapers, chronicling 19th-century American culture, daily life and events. Provides a broad yet sensitive depiction of the United States in the 1800s valuable to both professional and general researchers."
From Thomson Gale and available only to Tennessee residents.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. (Newspapers have been scanned into the database, and some are had to read.)
The Library of Congress is a treasure trove of primary sources, including presidential papers, maps, musical recordings, and photographs. It's also easily searchable.
What are primary sources?
A primary source occurred at the time of the event by a witness or a participant.
Examples include the following:
diaries
letters
speeches
oral histories
government documents
newspaper articles from the time of the event
photographs
music
literature of the time period
In the library catalog search under "Primary sources".
As Wolves upon a Sheep Fold by Aaron Purcell
Call Number: E525.5 91st .W55 2022
Publication Date: 2022
William S. Newton (1823-1882) served the Union primarily as an assistant surgeon with the 91st Ohio Volunteer Infantry, but also spent a few months as acting surgeon with the 2nd Virginia Cavalry (US). Toward the end of the war, he was promoted to surgeon for the 193rd Ohio Volunteer Infantry. Newton's units fought in the Appalachian Highlands, mostly in Virginia and West Virginia.
As Wolves upon a Sheep Fold by