Skip to main content

NSCC Voices

Chronicling the successes, fears, and hopes of first generation NSCC students and alumni.

Charlie's Story

Charlie's a pre-nursing student at Nashville State's Main Campus. He shares his story of overcoming drug addiction to become a straight-A student.

Music Credit:

Afterglow  by Podington Bear 

The Stars Look Different (Ziggy Stardust Mix) by spinningmerkaba

Creative commons attribution non commercial

Joey's Story

Joey Hatch is a Nashville State Community College and Auburn University graduate. He's currently Co-Chief Operating Officer at Skanska USA, Inc.

Music Credit from Free Music Archive

Pony -- Gillicuddy

Fudge -- Gillicuddy

60s Quiz Show -- Podington Bear

Moussa's Story

Moussa Diouf is a Nashville State and TSU grad. He currently works at Vanderbilt as a nurse.

Music Credit: Gymnopedies 3 Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com

Crossing the Divide Kevin MacLeod

 

Pam's Story

Pam Gadd is a Grammy nominated musician and NSCC alum.

Music Credit:

"Ferris Wheel" - Pam Gadd

"Big Buck" - Pam Gadd

"Something to Brag About" - Porter Wagoner and Pam Gadd

Byron's Story

Byron Easley is currently studying political science at Tennessee State University.

Music Credit from Free Music Archive

Artist: Gillicuddy

Song: "That Old Harpoon"

Album: Up/Down

creative commons license

Cassandra's Story

Cassandra tells her story of returning to college in late in life and offers advice to other non-traditional students.

Music

Artist: Audiobinger

Song: Mountain Top

Creative Commons attribution non commercial

Rudy's Story

Rudy was diagnosed with autism at age three and didn't learn to speak until age eight. In this edition of NSCCVoices, Rudy tells the story of his journey to college success.

Music:

Beaconsfield Villa Stomp

by Doctor Turtle

 

Jenna's Story

Jenna discusses overcoming doubts from family to become a 4.0 student on the NSCC Clarksville campus.

Music Credit: Theme in G by Tate Peterson from the Free Music Archive

creative commons license

Traci's Story

Traci is a current student majoring in Computer Networking Technology on the NSCC Cookeville campus. 

Music Credit:

Brightening - Podington Bear

Creative commons license

Tammy's Story

Tammy is an administrative secretary at Nashville State and is currently working on a second degree in social work.

Music Credit from Free Music Archive

Artist: Podington Bear

Track: "Formless"

Album: Duets

creative commons logo

Jennifer's Story

Jennifer Brown is a social work major on the Cookeville Campus. She shares her story becoming a first-gen college student against the odds.

Music from Free Music Archive

Artist: Podington Bear

Tracks: "Dense," "Constellation," "Enrichment"

Laccorie's Story

Lacorrie Boone is a social work student on the NSCC Main Campus. Listen to her story of redemption after a false start at TSU.

Music Credit:

G of the Bang -- G of the Bang

From the Free Music Archive

Jami's Story

Jami's an English and education major at Nashville State and Freed Hardeman in Dickson, TN. She shares her story of going from high school dropout to successful college student.

Music credit: Waiting David Szesztay (Free Music Archive)

Creative commons attribution non commercial license

Shaun's Story

Shaun Scantland is an NSCC graduate with an A.A.S. in Police Science. He's currently the head of security at the Cookeville campus. 

 

Music Credit:

From the Free Music Archive

Cylinder Three by Chris Zabriskie

Emo Step Show by The Custodian of Records

Provided by Shaun with permission from the band

Let Me By by The Toluenes

creative commons license