While most of the archives listed are free of copyright restrictions, make certain to read the fine print. In some cases I've added copyright notes to the websites, which may be viewed by clicking on "more" below the links.
"Baldy Editorial Cartoons, 1946-1982, 1997: The Clifford H. Baldowski Collection at the Richard B. Russell Library contains 6,740 pen and ink drawings and 2,460 velox. The digital database opens with approximately 2,500 cartoons from the collection. "
Copyright Notes: Before material from the collection may be published or otherwise reproduced, in whole or in part, in any publication (including dissertations to be microfilmed and distributed by University Microfilms), permission must be obtained from the owner of the physical property and the holder of the copyright. The Baldowski cartoons created for The Atlanta Journal Constitution are licensed to the Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies, University of Georgia Libraries by The Atlanta Journal Constitution. For access to The Atlanta Journal Constitution visit their website at www.ajc.com.
Please address your requests to: Sheryl Vogt, Director, Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies, University of Georgia Libraries, Athens, GA 30602-1641.
Copyright notes: “You may download low-resolution images directly from the web site for personal, research or study purposes for free. This includes classroom use and student projects. It does NOT include using images to populate online courses (even if password protected).”
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. "
Only a small sampling of our photographs can be found on Flickr at this time. For the pilot project, we will post a selection of photographs from the Women's Bureau, the Environmental Protection Agency, and a few favorites.
Only a very small percentage of our photographs presently exist in digital form, and many have not been fully researched and described. The photos you see here are a sample of the more than 13 million images in some seven hundred collections in our museums, archives, and research centers. These collections contain photographs collected from outside sources in addition to those taken by Smithsonian staff, and represent a broad range of subjects and themes in the fields of art, history, culture, a
Copyright note: If you are interested in using images which are labeled SIRIS (the Smithsonian Institution Research Information System), please view their separate copyright information for how to appropriately use their images.
With regards to ther rest of the images on this site: All photos, images, and original art on this website are provided by U.S. History Images and are protected by United States copyright law regarding compilations and derivations. All the images on this website are from sources which are in the public domain - that is published prior to 1923. You are granted permission to use the images for commercial or personal use as long as you agree to the following terms:
"Our mission is to bring electronic versions of the state’s rich collections to a wider audience. TeVA provides a searchable array of historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value."
Historical Anatomies on the Web is a digital project designed to give Internet users access to high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the Library's collection. The project offers selected images from NLM's atlas collection, not the entire books, with an emphasis on images and not texts. Atlases and images are selected primarily for their historical and artistic significance, with priority placed upon the earliest and/or the best edition of a work in NLM's possession.
“The content presented within this web site is copyrighted exclusively to the creators of FreeMediaGoo.com. This content is available for both commercial and private use free of charge. All content contained within FreeMediaGoo.com may not be used for propaganda, pornographic or suggestive materials.”
Non-exclusive, non-transferable rights to images. “Any photos/pictures posted by the author “freephotosbank” are free to use as long as you are using them for a website, book, magazine, etc. You cannot download our photos to sell as is or modified from any source. To use our photos/pictures you must accredit us on the work that you used the photo/picture on/in for the use of them or we will consider it a copyright infringement.”
Public Domain Pictures.net is a repository for free public domain images. You can download high quality photos or upload your own pictures. Raise money for charity, gain popularity and improve your photographic and graphic skills.
The Reanimation Library is a small, independent Presence Library open to the public. It is a collection of books that have fallen out of routine circulation and been acquired for their visual content. Outdated and discarded, they have been culled from thrift stores, stoop sales, and throw-away piles, and given new life as a resource for artists, writers, cultural archeologists, and other interested parties.
Reusable Art is proud to make available a collection of copyright free images chosen for crafters by a crafter. These free drawings, paintings, and illustrations have been rescued from old print materials that have since gone out of print and would have remained on the bookshelves of history were it not for this website.
Copyright note: Original publication information is included with each image for copyright verification. All images meet or exceed the Berne Convention standard for a creative work to be in the public domain.
"Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone" The collection contains sounds, videos and images.
“Most NOAA photos and slides are in the public domain and CANNOT be copyrighted. Although at present, no fee is charged for using the photos credit MUST be given to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration/Department of Commerce unless otherwise instructed to give credit to the photographer or other source.”
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video and that are in the public domain.