Skip to main content

Children's Literature

Guide to children's literature at Mayfield Library

Children's awards

Coretta Scott King Award

Newbery Medal -- An annual award given to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American children's literature published  in the preceding year. Established and endowed in 1921 by Frederic G. Melcher,

Caldecott Medal -- Awarded for outstanding illustration of children's picture books.

Oxford Children's Classics Series